ⓇⒺⓋⒾⒺⓌ Smashing the Spotlight by B.A. Tortuga

Standard

“Listen to them, the children of the night. What music they make!” – Bram Stoker

For nine months of the year, Connor ‘CJ’ Lamont, basks in the applause and admiration of his adoring fans. The remaining three months are his and his alone to enjoy and to be himself. When CJ heads to his favorite getaway away from the limelight, his new bodyguard Lee Mills “tags” along.

B.A. Tortuga’s  Smashing the Spotlight is part of ARe’s Infamous original series.

I was excited to be reading another shifters story but my expectations fell a tad short along the way. There was no problem with the writing per se. It was the approach that I found different that bogged down my reading at times. The way some of the sentences here were structured were unlike the ones I read from another Tortuga title. I do understand the author’s style to be original and fresh with a new story and those may be the reasons for this. I guess I was not just “comfortable” with it.

The sex scenes were too spicy. Not that I did not like them enough. It was just that they were all over the place that I found them overshadowing Connor and Lee’s budding romance including the subplots within the story.

This was a short, fast read though. What did stand out for me was when author B.A. Tortuga was describing Connor’s artistry and passion for music. She was waxing poetic here and there and I loved how she went about it. These parts were what saved the book for me in the end.

Buy Links:

AReAmazon USAmazon UK

Add to Goodreads Badge

This book deserves a rating of:

score3_rainbow_man

Read an excerpt and find out more information about Smashing the Spotlight and author
B.A. Tortuga at
Less than 48 hours left to enter the giveaway to win 2 ebooks from ARe books

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Leave a Reply

