ⓇⒺⓋⒾⒺⓌ Brewing by Julia Talbot and B.A. Tortuga

Standard

“He was my cream, and I was his coffee. And when you poured us together, it was something.” – Josephine Baker

Having a bad day then getting caught in the rain was just too much for architect Harris until he seeks shelter at the Rainbow Cafe. The proprietor’s warm reception and the shop’s delectable offerings seemed to drive Harris’ cares away but nothing compared to the presence of regular customer Jayden when he sits next to Harris and strikes up a conversation. One thing leads to another but could each make a drastic and huge sacrifice if both of them want to stay together for always?

B.A. Tortuga and Julia Talbot’s novelette Brewing is the first book in the Rainbow Brew series.

I was somehow reminded of Joanne Harris’ Chocolat and Laura Esquivel’s Como Agua Para Chocolate (Like Water for Chocolate) while reading this sensual and provocative novelette. The idea of  mixing food and beverage into romance and fantasy worked well in the story although the magical realism element confounded me a bit as I had to grasp what the “Real” and the “Between” worlds were all about. I understood them to a point but they were still a little elusive.  Even Harris could not comprehend how they worked and any explanations were not elaborated on by Jayden or even by Jack, the Rainbow Cafe’s barista.

I have to say that I found the sex scenes too hot and scalding as a cup of joe – pun and no pun intended! I just wished I understood more the hows and whys of  the “Real” and “Between” worlds. As a reader, being kept in the dark by the authors had its own appeal though and I guess the mysterious workings of “Real” and “Between” would be further explained in the next book(s) of the series.

This book deserves a rating of:

score4_rainbow_man1

Read an excerpt and find out more information about Brewing – Rainbow Brew Book 1 and authors Julia Talbot and B.A. Tortuga at
4 days left to enter the giveaway to win 2 ebooks from backlist of ARe books

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

